Samuel NaHagid

Sometimes I rewrite translations. I don’t retranslate. I rewrite. It’s completely unethical. Ethics have no place in poetry.

The third of three love songs from Samuel HaNagid:

 

“Enough! I love the gazelle 

taking roses from your garden.

Scorn me, but– 

 

If you once gazed at my lover as I do

your lovers would take up arrows and end you.   

 

He said: I want the honey from your hive.

I answered: return it to me on your tongue. 

He raged: should we sin against the living God?

I replied: let your sin, sweet master, be with me. 

 

Samuel HaNagid (993-1056)

Leave a Reply

